Nuts About Milk! Week One!

IMG_2869

For the next four weeks Mondays will be dedicated to milk. I personally don’t drink soya due to the hormones it contains, so this is the perfect opportunity to experiment with various recipes for nut and seed based milk to find alternatives.

Today I will be making Almond milk, which you can buy in supermarkets and health stores, but it can contain hidden sugar. I don’t think you can beat making food from scratch and this process was extremely satisfying. When I drank the first cup I was overcome with the fact that I had made it!

Nut milk is incredibly quick and easy to make! I think it took me in total about 10 minutes, including the time it took me to find my nut bag. So many recipes require milk, wouldn’t it be fun to be able to make milk that actually compliments the dish you want to cook? Nuts and seeds are the answer! I hope you enjoy this simple recipe, please feel free to comment below.

Almond Milk


8 oz Almonds


950ml water


Nut milk bag

IMG_2875

1.     Soak nuts for 8 hours or overnight
  

2.    Blend nuts and add the water gradually

IMG_2876

3.  Blend until smooth
 

4.  Strain milk through the nut bag into a bowl


5.  Pour into a clean bottle and keep in the fridge

Lasts 2-3 days in the fridge

ENJOY! 

3 thoughts on “Nuts About Milk! Week One!

Leave a Reply

